House Committee on Education

Minutes of Meeting 2022 Regular Session December 16, 2021

I. CALL TO ORDER

Representative Lance Harris, chairman of the House Committee on Education, called the meeting to order at 2:07 p.m. in Room 1, in the state capitol in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

II. ROLL CALL

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Representative Lance Harris, chairman

Representative Beryl A. Amedée

Representative Barbara Reich Freiberg

Representative Stephanie Hilferty

Representative Patrick O. Jefferson, vice chairman

Representative Charles Anthony Owen

Representative Tammy T. Phelps

Representative Laurie Schlegel

Representative Vincent "Vinney" J. St. Blanc, III

Representative Phillip Eric Tarver

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Representative Kendricks "Ken" Brass Representative Aimee Adatto Freeman

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Elizabeth L. Borne, legislative analyst Lisa Lovello, legislative analyst Jacqueline Snowden, committee administrative assistant

ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES PRESENT:

None

Education December 16, 2021

III. BUSINESS

Pursuant to Article VII, Section 10.8(c)(3)(g) of the state constitution and R.S. 17:3805, consider for legislative approval for plans submitted by schools and school systems for the expenditure of Education Excellence Fund (EEF) monies

Members considered plans submitted by schools and school systems for the expenditure of Education Excellence Fund monies and received a breakdown of contributions in the investment account and contributions from the regular account.

Ethan Melancon, Louisiana Department of Education, 1201 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, (985) 859-4649, presented a PowerPoint presentation describing the Education Excellence Fund. The presentation is labeled Exhibit A and is contained in the committee records,

Kenya Jenkins, Louisiana Department of Education, 1201 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA, 70802, (225) 342-3342, spoke for information only.

Representative Harris offered a motion to approve the Education Excellence Fund in globo. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 10 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Harris, Amedee, Freiberg, Hilferty, Jefferson, Charles Owen, Phelps, Schlegel, St. Blanc, and Tarver voted yea.

Representative Hilferty offered a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 10 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Harris, Amedee, Freiberg, Hilferty, Jefferson, Charles Owen, Phelps, Schlegel, St. Blanc, and Tarver voted yea.

IV. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

V. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 2:34 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman Lance Harris House Committee on Education

Date adopted:

The committee has acknowledged on _____, that these minutes were prepared in accordance with the rules of the House of Representatives.